Day 30 and Thank You

Here it is! The last accursed daily journal! I’m mildly upset that one of the easiest parts of this blog became the thing I grew tired of first. But you need more than researched articles and infographics, you need substance about what exactly is going on in my head while I’m completing this stuff.

At the end of the project, I feel quite nostalgic. A month is a long time when you are making life-changing decisions. What I feel the most is pride in myelf for sticking with and making the most of this experience. I’ve learned to cook better, I learned a completely new way of living, and I’ve connected with people in a way that I couldn’t before. I have been absolutely honored to answer questions and to do research for the benefit of others who a just as curious as I am.

It’s because of you readers of why I continued to write and research when I could have just as easily started on another product. You guys helped me stay motivated to continue learning and stick to the diet plan. Thank you also to my friends and family who have given me so much love and support during this project. I honestly have no idea how I could have stayed as excited and curious as I have without them having my back.

As far as what I want to do now, I believe I have made my decision: Kale Yeah, I’m Vegan! I love what I have learned and experienced with veganism, and I plan to continue down this path as long as I can. However, I will not be as strict as I was on the diet. Where I’m from, food has a strong stigma with family and togetherness. I grew up learning that if someone makes you food, you had better eat and enjoy it. The time that I have refused people who give me food this last month has been difficult. In social situations, if a vegan option is not available, I’d rather eat a vegetarian option. I’m tired of eating before going to someone’s house, just so i have an excuse not to eat. I want to share mealtimes again, and the people I hold most dear in my life are not ready to adopt the lifestyle that I have, and that is their choice that I must respect. I plan to whole-heartedly embrace my new found lifestyle, but not at the expense of giving up everything I held so dear before.

Except seafood. That stuff is just nasty.

Pho_Profile.png

Pho

Ingredients

  • 1 10 oz bag dried shitake mushrooms
  • 3 inches fresh ginger, chopped
  • ½ head garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 1 stalk lemongrass, chopped
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • ¼ head fennel, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • ½ cup gluten-free soy sauce
  • 4 cups water
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • Sea Salt as needed
  • 8 oz brown rice noodles, cooked according to the package
  • Optional Toppings: Bean sprouts, lime wedges, lemon wedges, broccoli, blanched Mushrooms, blanched cabbage, sliced mint, cilantro, basil, green onions, edamame, organic tofu

Preparation

  1. Under the broiler, char ginger and onions until the outside of the onions is dark and the inside is raw.
  2. Add all broth ingredients together. Bring to a boil. Simmer for at least 30 minutes. Note: The longer you simmer the soup the more flavorful it will be.
  3. Strain soup. Reserving the broth. Taste broth. If too salty add more water. If not flavourful enough add more sea salt, gluten-free soy sauce or broth.
  4. Serve soup with noodles and veggies enjoy!

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 209.5 lb (-4.0 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 96

Blood Pressure: 118/78

Resting Heart Rate: 75

Total Calorie Intake: 2264     374/85/63*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

 

Leave a Reply

