Day 29

We have commenced our last weekend of the Animal-Friendly February project! How do I feel about this? I feel great anticipation to no longer have to keep track of almost every inkling of my vitals and caloric intake. I’m so sick of daily journaling, I could be sick. I want to go back to my usual morning routine again. I truly enjoy making the research specific blog posts, but these daily journals are almost too much. There have been plenty of days where I just did not feel like spending thirty minutes to write about my feelings. But I have powered through for you, my dear readers and guests!

On the other hand, I feel quite nostalgic and proud of myself. It will be weird not having to share every detail of my current health, but I have definitely learned my fair share about veganism and about myself. And to think it will be forever archived on the internet. Of course, it isn’t without the love and support of my family, friends, and for my wonderful readers who are just as important to keeping this project alive and going.

My ultimate goal is to tell others about this month long experiment as well as share all the research I have done in order to further understand the Vegan society. I have truly enjoyed my time writing up these blogs, journals, recipes, vital sign records, and so much more; but it is just about time to bring it all to one big finale. I just wish I didn’t have to work tomorrow.

veganeggplantgyro1.jpg

Eggplant Gyros

INGREDIENTS
  • 2 eggplants, cubed (about 4 cups uncooked, it will shrink down significantly when cooked)
  • 1 tbsp. oil
  • 2 tbsp. za’atar
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • salt/pepper
  • 1 large tomato, sliced
  • ½ cup red onions, very thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • ½ cup cucumber, thinly sliced
  • ⅓ cup parsley, chopped
  • 4 pita flatbreads
  • Hummus Sauce:
  • ⅓ cup hummus
  • 1 large lemon, juiced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. dried dill
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Place the eggplant in a large bowl and rub with olive oil, za’atar seasoning and oregano until well coated.
  2. You can either roast or use the skillet to cook, both work! If you are doubling the recipe, then I recommend roasting.
  3. To roast: Place the eggplant in a baking dish and roast at 400 degrees for 30 minutes until very soft.
  4. To saute: heat a bit more oil in a large cast iron skillet (or other non-stick skillet) over medium heat. Add eggplant and cook for 10-15 minutes until very tender.
  5. Combine the very thinly sliced onion and vinegar in a bowl. Let sit while you cook the eggplant and make the hummus sauce. Drain before serving.
  6. Combine the ingredients for the sauce: hummus, lemon juice, garlic, dill and a pinch salt/pepper. Set aside.
  7. Make the gyros: pile the onions, cucumber, tomato, cucumber and cooked eggplant on the flatbreads. Drizzle with hummus sauce and eat immediately.

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 210.0 lb (-3.4 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 96

Blood Pressure: 110/70

Resting Heart Rate: 76

Total Calorie Intake: 1812     215/70/48*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

