Day 25

I’m so stressed out at work that it is actually messing with my blood pressure. I’m really disappointed that my results will be somewhat skewed because of the variation, but it does take into affect that life happens. It’s one thing to be happy and be exercising everyday, but what about those times when you are just so anxious and don’t feel like going to the gym. Or those weekends when the kids are sick, and there is no such thing as “you” time. Or, goodness forbid, a tragedy occurs, and your health and priorities are pushed to the back burner.

In order to really see how veganism affects the body, it has to be viewed in a realistic state. If you spend a month at the spa exercising an hour a day, being pampered for the rest of the day, then given the highest quality vegan foods, you are going to see positive results even if you are in the best shape of your life.

In this case, the stress of work is physically effecting me. So, we can justifiably say that veganism is not a cure for stress and that our bodies will still react in a negative way to excessive stress. However, I can see from the results of my vitals testing that my blood pressure and blood sugar levels have become similar to when I first started the project. I also found that I tend to eat more refined carbs whenever I’m anxious which has a big impact on my fasting glucose level. I’ve learned about myself is that I need to be most conscious of my diet whenever I’m having a hard time unwinding.

SONY DSC

 

Vegan Strawberry Ice Cream

Ingredient
– 2 cups strawberries
– 1 1/2 cups full fat original canned coconut milk
– 1 cup light canned coconut milk
– 1 1/4 cups sugar
Directions
  1. Remove stems from strawberries and finely chop. Place strawberries in a large bowl and stir in sugar.
  2. Let stand for 1/2 hour, stirring frequently until sugar is dissolved.
  3. Add coconut milks (or optional milk and cream). Using the ice-cream attachment for your stand-mixer according to manufacturer directions, process mixture for 30 minutes.
  4. Pour into a loaf pan, or other desired container. Cover tightly with plastic wrap or the lid to your container.
  5. Freeze overnight or several hours until mixture is frozen through.

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 210.2 lb (-3.2 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 105

Blood Pressure: 116/64

Resting Heart Rate: 82

Total Calorie Intake: 1811     189/55/51*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

