But I Love Meat

Then eat meat.

That is probably not the response you expected. In all honesty, you are a well-educated and rationally thinking adult who is perfectly capable of making your own decisions. I did not take on this project to change the world, but to find information about veganism and make it readily available for you so that you can make your own decisions off this information. I also wanted to break a few stereotypes in the process. A few years ago, I thought all vegans were crazy. It wasn’t until I started researching and really trying to understand that I came around to the idea of trying it out myself.

In an attempt to find common misconceptions about veganism in order to disprove them, I found just as many articles disproving veganism as there we approving veganism. As a joke, I looked up variations of the question “is exercise bad for you?” I found loads of blogs and research papers about how exercise can have a higher negative impact than a positive one. I also found that lettuce, washing hands, immunizations, reading, sleeping, and even having children being detrimental to your health. What I inadvertently found is that in the Conceptual Age of humanity, where all information is available at the swipe of a finger, every single person has a different opinion about everything, and has research or acquired knowledge to back up their opinion. We have more people with all the answers instead of asking the right questions. And in ten years time, who’s to say we won’t find the panacea to diseases?

I Love Meat, But I Want to Be More Conscious of My Health and Diet

Not everyone is capable of taking on a vegan diet, but that is no reason to not try to do your part for your own health, the economy, and the environment. My suggestion would be to not eat as much meat and to be picky about where your meat, dairy, and eggs come from.

  • The best place to start slow is to adopt Meatless Mondays. During World War I, the U.S. Food Administration urged families to reduce consumption of key staples to aid the war effort. “Food Will Win the War,” the government proclaimed, and “Meatless Monday” was introduced to encourage Americans to do their part. More than 13 million families signed a pledge to observe the national meatless conservation days.
  • You could also pick a meal time to veganize. Make vegan versions of your favorite breakfast treats. Snack on fruit and veggies in the afternoons. Check out my Meal-Prepping 101 blog to see how to create a week’s worth of grab-and-go delicious plant-based meals.
  • If an entire meal-time still seems too much, start adopting the idea of making at least half of your plate plant-based foods. Everyone could do with eating more vegetables every day.
  • A new trend on the rise is “6-to-6 Vegans,” which is a completely vegan diet between 6:00 AM and 6:00 PM.

By being more conscious of where your meat, dairy, and eggs are coming from, you can help lower demand for cheap, unsanitary, and inhumane operations at some big name meat companies.

  • Buy meat locally from accredited farmers.
  • Find places that sell eggs from well-treated chickens. I have a friend who sells eggs from her pet chickens that she keeps in a house nicer than mine.
  • The biggest thing you can do to help stop unsanitary, unlawful, and inhumane actions is to make yourself knowledgeable about what you are putting in your body.
  • Just break up your relationship with fast food. They’re just using you, and are giving nothing back in return for your efforts.

I Refuse To Stop Eating the Amount of Meat, Dairy and Eggs I’m Currently Consuming!

Ok. That’s your choice. I’m not your mother. You are a fully functioning adult who is perfectly capable of taking care of yourself. I’m in no position to tell you how to live your life. One of the great things about living in America is that we have the freedom to make our own personal choices and have access to more food than we could ever eat. But from one human being to another, I hope you make your health a priority. I don’t care if you never even look at a salad in your entire life, but don’t let yourself believe that your health cannot be affected by your choices and actions (or lack thereof). The path to morbid obesity, disease, and preventable death is an easy and convenient path that you don’t even have to acknowledge that you’re walking on.

Leave a Reply

