Day 23

I feel I should explain some back story on the recipe of the day. This is a prime example of how I’m more productive when I’m lazy. I come home from a grueling day at the office, and I’ really hungry for something carbo-liscious. I thought I had a box of penne in my pantry, but it turns out to be elbow macaroni, which does not have the right texture and nuttiness for tomato-based pasta. Instead, I find a box of tri-color rotini that I decide will have to do.

As I’m cooking the pasta, I begin hunting for a jar of pasta sauce. I had completely forgotten that I had used up the last of it in the chili a few weeks back. Now, I have approximately ten minutes to make a pasta sauce of whatever I have. I grab a can of tomatoes and mushrooms. As I’m sauteing the mushroom (because I’m also out of onion), I have a fit of brilliance. I grab a few cloves of garlic and peppers, and toss those in the pan. The I realized I hadn’t consumed enough protein today, so I tossed in a can of chickpeas. I’m just randomly grabbing cans and cutting up veggies, until I suddenly have this mound of sauteed veggies that I accidentally dumped almost a half a cup of italian seasoning in.

It was delicious!

There were explosions of flavors fighting between sweet and savory, thick and smooth, and herby yet savory. I basically made a mound of cooked vegetables over a savory pasta noodle, but it has to be one of the best meals I’ve made on this diet.

20160222_170926288.jpg

Ingredients

  • Tri-color pasta noodles
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (salt-free)
  • 1 portabello mushroom cap
  • 1 can diced tomatoes and chiles
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 small pepper
  • 1 tbsp garlic
  • 3 tbsp italian seasonings
  • a handful of torn chives

Directions

  • Cook the pasta until desired tenderness
  • Saute in this order:
    • mushroom
    • garlic
    • pepper
    • chickpeas
    • avocado
    • both cans of tomatoes
  • Add seasonings and herbs on top
  • Simmer about five minutes until it thickens slightly. As it cools, it will become more sauce-like.
    • If you don’t like chunks of veggies, puree in a blender until smooth
  • Serve over pasta noodles

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 212.0 lb (-1.4 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 102

Blood Pressure: 112/70

Resting Heart Rate: 94

Total Calorie Intake: 1411     189/55/51*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

