Day 21

It’s sixty-five degrees outside! There was no way I was laying on the couch and playing video games. I started out with a five and half mile hike through the winding nature trails the state park. Everywhere you look, you see the first few sprigs of green peeking through dead leaves and muddy ground. I was so excited to be outside after being stuck indoors from sub-zero temperatures.

After that, my dad and I went out to a late lunch where I had this amazing veggie stir-fry. After being outdoors all morning, it really hit the spot. As I was enjoying our daddy-daughter (Yes, I’m an adult, but I still like to make time to hang out with my parents. I mean, they are the reason I exist.) My dad started teasing me about what I ate, “All them trees out there, it must have looked like a buffet line.” I thought it was funny, so I asked him, “Tell you what. Why don’t you and mom come over, and I’ll make you guys dinner.”

My dad is never one to turn down food accepted immediately. We went to see my mom at work, where I told her how I tricked dad into accepting a dinner invitation. A little less impressed, she said, “So… what is it going to be?” “Taco bowls!” “But… how do you have tacos without meat?” “You’ll just have to come and find out.”

I made this glorious taco bowl recipe I found in Mayim Bialik’s “Mayim’s Vegan Table.” I highly recommend it! Meanwhile, my parents were like children, “What’s that?” “It’s black beans.” “Are they good?” “Very good.” “What’s that?” “Plum crisp. It’s like peach crisp, and we’ll have it for dessert with banana ice cream.” “Oh! That sounds good. Are you almost done?” While the barrage of questions did grow mildly tiresome, it’s important to educate non-vegans about what’s in meals. Most Americans have never heard of completely meatless meals other than salad and bland pasta. It’s a whole new world for them.

Long story made short, they loved it! My dad alone made himself at least six tacos. They even told me, “If you ever want to come over and cook your vegan food, it’s okay by me.” I was over the moon with excitement. I successfully educated two people about the joys of cooking and eating vegan! I can’t think of a better way to begin my last week of the project.

Black-Bean-Tacos-1-©-2013-Jonathan-Meter

Mayim Bialik’s Build-Your-Own Black Bean and Quinoa Tacos

Capture.PNG

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Black Beans
    • Saute onions, peppers, zucchini, and garlic in oil until soft
    • Add Cajun or Old Bay seasoning
    • Add beans and corn
    • Cook for another two minutes
    • Pour into baking dish
  • Quinoa
    • Mix cooked quinoa, tomatoes, cilantro, scallions, lime juice, salt, and pepper
    • Spread over beans in baking dish
  • Sprinkle with vegan cheese if desired
  • Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, or until cheese is melted
  • Serve in bowls of hard tacos or in a dish to spoon into soft shells

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 208.6 lb (-4.4 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 94

Blood Pressure: 118/64

Resting Heart Rate: 90

Total Calorie Intake: 1764      261/79/55*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

