Day 20

It’s finally above freezing temperatures! I drove to work with the windows down, went outside to eat lunch, debated leaving my windows open all day, and I’m going hiking tomorrow morning. I have spent so long cooped up indoors that I want to run around outside like a little kid out of excitement.

It’s kind of strange when I say that, because it almost brings up the question, was I always so close to nature, balancing life, and enjoying the beautiful earth and each day it brought? It started out as a joke, but I always thought of myself as a “closet vegetarian.” I couldn’t eat a vegetarian diet for medical reasons, but I wanted to live the rest of my life as earth/human/animal friendly as possible. Maybe that’s why veganism was simple enough for me to pick up? I don’t really like meat. Milk has always made me a little ill. I love fruits and big bowls of veggies. I detest fried and greasy foods. Maybe this project was an excuse to explore an area of life that I was always interested in, but never thought I could do it.

Philosophy and self-discovery aside, I’m still going strong with the diet. The only health concern I have is that my blood pressure has risen. Not detrimentally, but instead of 110/68, it has spiked back up to 118/78 for the last few days. Some people may ignore it because I’m still in the healthy range, but it’s enough of a change to make me wary. I’ve managed to lower my sodium intake. The only factors I can think of is that I have increased my fat intake, I haven’t been exercising, and I’ve been very stressed at work. A combination of these three factors may be causing me to have higher than normal vital signs.

00c338b89378780d3d822af566ce979a

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 medium red onion, in thinly sliced half moons
  • 1 jalapeno, thinly sliced (seeds removed if you want less heat)
  • 8 oz seitan, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels, from 2 ears of corn
  • 8 oz cremini mushrooms, sliced into thin strips
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Fresh black pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice

Directions

  • Preheat a large, heavy bottomed pan over medium-high heat (cast iron, as always, is ideal.) Saute onion and jalapeno in two teaspoons oil and a pinch of salt, until translucent, 3 to 5 minutes.
  • Add the seitan and corn, and an additional tablespoon of oil and cook for about 5 minutes, until seitan is lightly browned, stirring often.
  • Add the mushrooms, cilantro, salt and pepper and cook for about 5 minutes.
  • Push everything to one side of the pan so that you have space to quickly saute the garlic. Put the remaining teaspoon of olive oil in the pan and toss in the garlic, stirring as it sizzles, for about 15 seconds. Then mix everything together and add the lime as well.
  • Taste for salt and seasonings, and serve over rice, with a nice scoop of guac. Garnish with fresh cilantro, if desired.

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 209.2 lb (-4.2 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 98

Blood Pressure: 118/72

Resting Heart Rate: 90

Total Calorie Intake: 1764      261/79/55*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

