Day 19

Something happened today that I never thought would ever happen. I turned down pasta. I have never turned downed cooked pasta before in my life. Whether it’s whole wheat, flour, gluten-free, rainbow, big, little, cheese filled, sauce covered, or baked in a casserole, I love pasta. During lunch, I opened up my leftover whole wheat pasta, and I was almost grossed out by it. I dumped it back into my lunch box and headed for the store. I ended up buying almost an entire bag of fruit and ate that for lunch.

Now eating fruit by itself for a meal should not become a habit, but I wanted nothing more than to just chow down on sweet and juicy fruit. What’s even more surprising is that I was full for a long time as if I had eaten an entire bowl of pasta. Is this what so many vegans talk about their palate changing? Am I now a dedicated veg-aholic? It’d be very interesting if I were. Instead of blood sugar spiking refined carbs, my body is now craving natural sugars and the sweetness of raw foods.

Other small changes I’ve found is that I’m quicker to grab healthy snacks rather than a convenience food, which I was very bad about. I would eat fast food at least two times a week, and now I haven’t touched fast food except for salads from Subway. After keeping a close eye on my sodium intake after discovering the processed foods I was buying was swimming in it, my other nutrients have balanced out very well. In order to grossly go over my recommended daily calorie intake, I would have to eat loads of processed foods. But if I cook my own meals and keep fresh fruit, veggies, and dips close by, it’s almost impossible to go over 2000 calories unless I just keep eating for the entire day. I’ve even added a morning snack in case my breakfast wasn’t quite big enough giving me a constant level of energy through out the day.

Right now, I’m full to bursting from homemade tomato basil bisque and vegan buttered toast, but I don’t feel the “brick” that my food used to leave in my stomach. If I wanted to, I could go out and do errands instead of crashing on the couch like I would after a thick, creamy soup and bread. I may even exercise a little bit later.

Slow_Cooker_black_bean_soup_4_edit

Ingredients
  • 1 pound dry black beans
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 2 jalapeños, seeds removed and finely chopped
  • 1 cup salsa or diced tomatoes
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic, about 4 cloves
  • 1 heaping tablespoon chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper
  • ½ teaspoon ground cayenne pepper (decrease or omit for a milder soup)
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • Avocado and cilantro for topping, if desired
Directions
  1. In a large bowl, place beans. Fill with water about 1 inch over the beans. Let them soak overnight.
  2. Drain and rinse the beans.
  3. In the bowl of a slow cooker, place beans, broth, onion, pepper, jalapeños, salsa, garlic, chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper, cayenne, and paprika. Stir to combine.
  4. Cook on high for 6 hours, until beans are completely cooked.
  5. When the soup is done, you can either leave it as is, process or blend half the soup until smooth and return it to the pot, or process or blend all of the soup until smooth.
  6. Serve warm; top with avocado and cilantro.
Daily Vitals

Weight: 210.4 lb (-3.0change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 101

Blood Pressure: 118/78

Resting Heart Rate: 90

Total Calorie Intake: 1764      261/79/55*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

