Day 12

Capture

This was a message to me from today from a very nice gent who was greatly surprised to hear I was a vegan. I truly believe that there are equal amounts angry vegans, happy vegans, activist vegans, go-with-the-flow vegans, rude vegans, inspiring vegans, and everything in between, just like in every other aspect of life. But it really does make me upset that an advertised compassionate, understanding, and life-loving subculture can be the butt of jokes and have such a negative connotation.

I’m genuinely enjoying my animal-friendly month. I’m enjoying expanding my cooking skills, learning about the food industry and nutrition, learning how to live a sustainable life, and even being a little more sensitive to the well-being of others, both animals and people. And then someone who doesn’t know me (not the polite young man from above) turns and says I’m a stereotype, extremist, and on the road to sickness and death. Before I can even say a word, they have already made up their mind about me.

I’m a grown woman who partakes of regular interaction with the real world. I know that people are going to challenge you, put you down, and even hate you. But it doesn’t make it hurt any less.

To any person wanting to be vegan, make kindness and compassion be your mantra. Be ready to answer difficult questions, and don’t let a stinging joke or side comment keep you from trying to be the best version of yourself you can be. Maybe that’s why so many vegans feel as if the world is against them? They are trying to spread the word of real problems, but are only met with condescending comments and mockery. Don’t let the world turn you into a vigilante. As our beloved Doctor tells us, “I have traveled from one corner of the galaxy to the other, and I have never met someone who wasn’t important.” In a way, I really think he was talking about animals, too.

2359d7c1cea9770218f0c2821ee051c1

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 210.8 lb (-2.6 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 101

Blood Pressure: 110/68

Resting Heart Rate: 83

Total Calorie Intake: 1530       244/49/47*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

