Day 7

I survived my first week of veganism! The first week is always the hardest. There is a big learning curve to becoming vegan, and changing your daily routine is never an easy task. The biggest thing I’ve learned this first week is that you have to accept that you are human. You will become frustrated and upset, but you should never let this keep you from your goal.

I can honestly say I feel better. While the changes are incremental, there is a definite positive effect occurring in my body. I have lost weight, by fasting blood glucose levels have become less erratic, and my blood pressure is ever so slightly decreasing. As an added bonus, I don’t feel tired and run down if I forget to take my multi-vitamin in the morning.

The most frustrating and stressful thing I’ve had to deal with my first week is meal planning. Before this project, I had a generally healthy diet with the unhealthy splurge once or twice a week. I had no problem grabbing an ice cream, a family size package of cookies, or bag full of candy. What I discovered is that I was overeating on a diet that was less than controlled. It’s as if I had no willpower to resist carb-alicious treats. Becoming more conscious of what I was eating, balancing every meal so I was getting all the necessary food groups, and focusing on quality over quantity  can become cumbersome when you just want to sit and eat whatever you want.

Despite the frustration, I have removed the veil of denial and am working full-time towards a healthier future for the long run. Whatever I decide my course of action is at the end of this project, I will definitely be taking a more active role in controlling my unconscious eating.

Today, I had gone to my parents’ home to visit. As these things usually go, they offered me dinner of chicken chili that I politely refused. However, them being the most awesome parents ever, they gave me free reign of the kitchen to make anything I liked. I was able to have dinner with my family and hold fast to the project without anyone being excluded. After dinner, they even asked me questions about veganism that I answered knowledgeably and with creditability.

It is a wonderful thing to have the support of family and friends when you decide to make any choice in life. It makes the experience all the more rewarding. That is the purpose of this experiment: to learn about vegan culture and share that knowledge with others. After everything I’ve learned in only a week, I can’t wait to see what happens in the coming days.

Quick and Easy Bagel

This is a really simple and quick meal to put together when in a pinch. The combination of nut butter and starchy bagel fills you up faster, and the sweetness of the fruits creates a flavor palate that rivals any soup or salad.

Ingredients

  • Everything Bagel (the extra toppings make up 10g of protein!)
  • 2 tbs of peanut butter
  • 1 tbs of sliced almonds
  • 1 tbs of dried cranberries
  • 1 medium apple sliced
  • 1 tsp of brown sugar

Directions

  • Spread the peanut butter on each half of the bagel
  • Spread other ingredient on top of bagel

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 209.4 lb (-4.0 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 102

Blood Pressure: 115/77

Resting Heart Rate: 94

Total Calorie Intake:1966      301/69/53*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

 

Leave a Reply

