Day 6

I was going to be cute and go to the store real quick to grab a few things for next week. I forgot that it is Super Bowl Weekend. If you enjoy the Bowl, I’m glad, but I do not care either way. What ensued was the most nerve-wracking experience of my life second only to Target on Black Friday when the Nintendo Wii first came out. There were people bumping into you, children screaming and dodging between carts, everyone was packed into the liquor and chips aisles that are conveniently placed next to milk and bread, I had been bumped as many as five times, people will just congregate in the center of the aisles, every checkout lane had at least four full carts, and so many abandoned carts.

In that type of high-stress situation of watching your purse, moving your cart, people bumping you, all while trying to read an ingredients list because your phone is dead, so you have to look at every single ingredient and can’t double check for animal products on the internet. I almost gave up. For the first time, I honestly asked myself if this was worth it. Why didn’t I just grab what I needed, no ingredient checking, buy my groceries, and go home?

Then I remembered why I’m doing this. Since the beginning of the week, I have lost three pounds. After a year of my weight ballooning up and down for the last year, I finally feel like I’m accomplishing leaps and bounds with my health. They are small, almost incremental, changes, but they are definite positive changes. I’m doing this project to see if it is 100% possible for someone to live their lives in an environmentally beneficial, compassionate, and overall very healthy diet instead of the massive carbon-footprint and meat laden society we have become.

I thought about everything I had learned so far in a week, and I’ve discovered that I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I’ve accomplished more for my well-being in one week than the majority of Americans will experience in a lifetime. I didn’t want to give up just because the frustration of shopping in a crowded store. So, I continued reading my ingredients list and moving my cart all while keeping a protective hand on my purse.

The lesson of my mini-outburst in a crowded store is that life will always find a way to grind your nerves and feel like all your efforts are for nothing. The important thing to remember is that any change, whether small or large, always have a massive impact on your future. Understand that you are human and will make mistakes. However, when those mistakes happen, do your best to get back on track as quick as possible. You already know how it feels to quit, so try to imagine what it will be like to succeed.

20160205_200140359

Vegan Chili Dogs

Ingredients

  • Veggie hot dogs
  • 1 can Chili beans
  • 1 can Black beans
  • 1 can Chickpeas
  • 2 cans diced Tomatos
  • 1 can diced Green chilis
  • 3 quartered Artichoke hearts (The chili requires at least one misc vegetable to be added: corn, artichokes, celery, carrots, or whatever you like to put in yours.)

Directions

  • Crockpot
    • Add all ingredients except the hot dogs
    • Turn heat to Low and let cook for at least three hours
    • Cook hot dogs over medium heat on stovetop until browned
  • Stove Top
    • Add all ingredients except the hot dogs and cover pot
    • Turn heat to Med/Low and let cook for at least thirty minutes stirring occasionally
    • Cook hot dogs over medium heat on stovetop until browned

 

Daily Vitals

Weight: 210.0 lb (-3.4 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 101

Blood Pressure: 120/77

Resting Heart Rate: 94

Total Calorie Intake:1640       273/49/79*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

