Day 4

quinoa_goat_cheese_patties4_800

Today was absolutely nuts. I had overtime at work, I had to go to the store, I had to clean my house, I had to run to the library, I haven’t exercised yet, and I only just now got dinner in the oven at 8:30 pm. I’m hungry, exhausted, and famished. So, unfortunately, the “Do Vegans Eat Junk Food: Part 3 Processed Vegan Food” will have to wait until tomorrow.

I discovered two things today. The first is hat I’ve found an easier way to see if a food is vegan. If you are in a hurry and can’t look up every ingredient on the package, check out allergy warnings. Somewhere in the immediate vicinity of the ingredients in bold lettering will be a list of allergens. Dairy and eggs will almost always appear in the allergen list of packaged products. If you don’t see dairy or eggs listed, it’s most likely vegan.

The second thing I’ve noticed is that after only four days of this diet, my body is already benefiting from it. It’s more than the placebo high energy you receive the first week of a new diet, it’s physical as well. My fasting blood sugar has reduced six points since I’ve started. I’ve lost two pounds, my resting heart rate is lower, and even my blood pressure is getting incrementally lower. After four days, I can’t wait to see two weeks, or a month, or maybe even two months.

I have just enough time tonight to try this new recipe I found called Cauliflower Patties. These do take longer to make, but I’m told they’re totally worth the wait. I just want to relax with my dinner, drink a cup of tea, read another chapter of my book, and go to bed. Today was far too much.

Cauliflower Chickpea Patties

Ingredients

  • 1 head cauliflower, florets broken apart
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 bell pepper, diced small
  • 1 onion, diced small
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup panko
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375.
  • Boil or steam cauliflower until soft
  • Sauté onion and bell pepper over low heat until soft
  • Add garlic and sauté for another minute or so
  • In a large bowl, smash chick peas up well with a fork or the bottom of a cup.
  • Add cauliflower and smash up as well.
  • Add all other ingredients and stir until combined.
  • Mix should be wet but come together in a ball without falling apart.
  • Carefully make a ball in your hands with the mix. I did mine a little bigger than a golf ball.
  • Press ball between hands to make a patty.
  • Place patty on oiled pan or baking dish.
  • Continue with the rest of the mix.
  • Bake for 25 Minutes, flip the patties. and bake for another 20 minutes or until browned.
Daily Vitals

Weight: 211.6 lb (-1.8 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 100

Blood Pressure: 118/79

Resting Heart Rate: 84

Total Calorie Intake:1735       253/57/68*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

