Day 2

20160201_174148

I love tofu! Today was my first time cooking and eating tofu, and I absolutely loved it. It has a texture similar to tilapia, but you can flavor it however you want to. And if you get a good pan-sear on it, it can be better than any chicken dinner! I highly recommend reading up on cooking techniques before attempting to use tofu. If you don’t cook it right, it becomes a soggy mess and very unappetizing. Unless that’s what you want, then more power to you.

I did not have any non-vegan food cravings today. I would say it’s almost a relief to have an excuse not to drink soda and eat the ham from the meat tray from the lunch carry-in. Whenever I was on an omnivore diet, I always had to convince myself to not eat something. With being vegan at the forefront of my mind, it’s so much easier to say, “Nope. Not vegan,” and then carry on with my day. I was very hungry, though. I checked and double checked my calorie counts to make sure I’m not deficit in any way, but all my numbers come back normal. After researching, I have two possible explanations. The first is that my metabolism is waking up causing me to be genuinely hungrier sooner than what I’m used to, or I’m not getting enough sleep.

There is a hormone that is released when you are sleep-deprived. It increases your appetite for carb-heavy foods causing you to eat as much as an entire meal more than what you usually would eat. That’s why those late night college cram sessions were often interrupted by snack breaks. Your body is literally trying to feed itself extra energy to stay awake.

Recipe of the Day

Winter Veggies and Tofu Stir-Fry (~30 minutes)

Ingredients:

  • 3 oz cubed extra-firm tofu (drained and dried thoroughly)
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • 1 cup radishes
  • 3 cups broccoli
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 tbs of minced garlic
  • 1 tbs of sliced ginger (or ginger powder)
  • Soy sauce
  • Olive oil
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 tsp Poultry season
  • 1 tsp of rosemary
  • Optional
    • 1/2 cup chopped peanuts
    • 1 tbs nutritional yeast
    • 1 tbs sesame seeds

Directions:

  • put enough olive oil and soy sauce to cover the bottom of the pan. Have the stove at Med/Low so not to burn the tofu.
  • Take the cubed tofu and lightly sear each side.
  • Once desired color is achieved, add onions and garlic and let cook until onions are almost clear. Stir regularly to keep garlic from burning.
  • Add sweet potato, broccoli, ginger, and seasonings to pan and toss until oils cover the veggies.
  • Add a few tbs as desired of soy sauce.
  • Turn the stove top to Med/High and pour 1/2 cup of water into the pan. Cover immediately.
  • Steam for about 10 minutes, or until sweet potatoes have lost their starchy taste and other veggies still have a mild crunch to them.
  • Drain excess water
  • Add peanuts, nutritional yeast, and sesame seeds if desired.

 

Daily Vitals Measurement:

Weight: 214.4 lb (+1 change)

Fasting Blood Glucose Level: 105

Blood Pressure: 120/79

Resting Heart Rate: 102

Total Calorie Intake:1676       205/67/79*

*”Total Calories per Day”     “Carbs/Fat/Protein” The ultimate goal is 1800 calories per day with a macronutrient split of 225/60/90.

Leave a Reply

