30 Day Vegan Prep-Week

January 26th

It’s late at night, and I’m just putting the final touches on my blog design. I thought research and data collection would be difficult, but how do you decide from hundreds of design templates and widgets? I’m at the point where I’m becoming kind of nervous about this experiment. I’m concerned about messing up my information, getting sick from switching to a new diet, and messing up one day when I wasn’t paying attention to what I was eating.

But it’s perfectly fine. The fact that I’m concerned for my well-being and giving the right statistics, facts, and figures is a sign that I really care about this project. Everyone gets a little stage-fright once in awhile, but it can’t stop us from forging ahead into discovery.

I have a healthy dose of precaution going into this, because what I’m about to learn is significant and may impact my life more than I had intended. There is no “unseeing” something that has been buried by paperwork and denial. Despite the butterflies, I will forge ahead. My food plan is almost completely filled out. I feel confident in my base information I’ve collected. I’m ready to hit the ground running.

 

January 27th

How did vegans functions before Google? I have googled the phrase “Is _ vegan?” so many times, Google auto corrects every search I do. The first big discovery I made is that most breads are vegan! I honestly didn’t know that. So on my list of food so far, I have burritos, burgers, pizza, ice cream, fries, chips, potstickers, Twizzlers, Skittles, and pasta. I’m starting to think I might gain weight by the end of the month.

So the first myth that vegans only eat nuts, fruits, and veggies is officially busted. We could even say that just because something is vegan doesn’t mean that it’s healthy for you. Even cocaine is meat-free, dairy-free, gluten-free, fat-free and 100% vegan.

The hardest part of my research so far is really figuring out food plans, particularly making sure I have enough variety to get enough protein. I may have to do a search for protein-rich vegan breakfasts and snacks. I will be continuing my moderate exercise regime as I start this diet, so it’s essential that I keep everything at good levels in order to continue being healthy enough to keep an active lifestyle.

I’ve been working non-stop on my Pinterest board I’m creating for this project. I have recipes, tips for going vegan, tutorials, and all kinds of information pertinent to my project. I welcome everyone to follow this board. It includes sources I use and great follo-up information if anyone is interested.

 

January 28th

Three days, guys! My next job is to prepare my shopping list. I have a week’s worth of animal-friendly foods I want to try, and I’m excited to get started. I went to Wal-Mart today to pick up a few things only to find myself in the milk department looking for a soy milk that sounded good. I was minding my own business when I heard an elderly man scoff behind me in a derisive tone to his wife, “Ugh! That stuff will kill you. You couldn’t pay me to put that in my cart.” His wife for some reason found this hilarious. I turn to see if he was actually mocking me, and he was glaring at me angrily. I know I should be offended, but this is the first time I’ve ever been publicly humiliated for making healthier choices. I’ve had the occasional joke about “rabbit food” and “Jenni’s concoctions,” but I have never felt so proud of myself.

Also, I’ve been trying to get the hang of testing my own blood pressure and blood glucose. I’m not a huge fan on pricking my finger, so I was trying to trick myself, “Oh, what’s that?… Where?” *Click* To my dismay, I had to try at least four times before I could enough of a sample. My vitals readings and such will be available to view in my daily journal entries at the bottom. I figured it’s the best way to show my progress according to my general health.

So I’ll be making out a grocery list that is full of fruits, veggies, tofu, beans, nuts, breads, and maybe a few goodies to keep me motivated. It’ll be a busy weekend putting the finishing touches to my project, but I’m ready. Who’s ready for a Vegan Challenge!?

 

January 29th

It may be the excitement, but my mindset is consumed with veganism and vegetarianism. I keep thinking of the different outcomes, my articles, my videos, and the other day, I caught myself looking at a restaurant menu for vegan products. I had passed by the meat department and was almost nauseated by the amount of meat to sell. Not souch the quality, but sheer size of the meat department was daunting. I’ve never noticed that before. It’s still two days away, and I’m already actively thinking about my decisions.

The hardest part of getting ready is eating all the non-vegan food or donating it. The past three days have been the worst food choices. I’m not one to throw away food, so I’m trying to get rid of it as soon as possible.

Tomorrow is shopping day! I have my list started and a list of stores that sell healthy meat-substitutes and specialty grains. I’m really looking forward to hopping into my new routine and hopefully kicking some bad habits in the process. Wish me luck! Apparently, shopping is the second hardest part.

 

 

Leave a Reply

